You are here: Albums > Display Album

Calm and Collected by Martin and Shan Graebe


Martin and Shan Graebe sing traditional songs, mostly from the south of England &, mostly, unaccompanied & in harmony. Many come from the Devonshire collector, Sabine Baring-Gould, on whose work Martin is an authority. Martin has also written a number of songs that have become popular with folk audiences worldwide. Our previous CDs, Parallel Strands (2005) and Dusty Diamonds (2008), both released on the WildGoose label, have been unavailable for some time. This CD brings together 16 tracks from those CDs and we have also included three tracks that we recorded in 2013 for the book Folk Songs in Ralph Vaughan Williams’ English Folk Song Suite written by Prof. Robert Garofalo. We are grateful to him for permission to include them here.

Click here for sleeve notes

Track Listing

1 Hunting the hare - Roud 1181 / Adam the poacher - Roud 13907
2 Stonecracker John  
3 Dives and Lazarus - Roud 477  
4 Jack in the Green  
5 American Stranger – Roud 1081  
6 Tyburn Hill – Roud 369  
7 Down in the Coal Mine – Roud 3502
8 From Severn, by the Somme  
9 Bonnie, Bonnie Boy – Roud 293  
10 John Barleycorn – Roud 2141  
11 Rouse, Rouse
12 Sly Reynard – Roud 1868 / The Hunting Song
13 The Setting of the Sun - Roud 166  
14 Henry Martin – Roud 104
15 Honiton Lace  
16 Laying My Life on the Line  
17 The Great Galleon of Plymouth  
18 I had Two Ships  
19 My Coffin shall be Black – Roud 1704
Calm and Collected album cover
Price: £6.99
Add to basket


Martin and Shan Graebe
(Singers of traditional and self composed songs)


No information available.