You are here: Albums > Display Album

Poor Ellen Smith by Rattle on the Stovepipe


Rattle on the Stovepipe sing and play American traditional ‘Old Timey’ music with a classic line-up of guitar, banjo and fiddle. This is their sixth album on the WildGoose label and it comprises a selection of their current favourites. Dave Arthur, Pete Cooper and Dan Stewart are all master musicians and they are completely at home with the music they love.

Click here for sleeve notes

Track Listing

1 Dead-heads and Suckers  
2 Little Billy Wilson  
3 Hang Me, Oh, Hang Me  
4 Swannanoa Waltz / Julianne Johnson  
5 Poor Ellen Smith  
6 Bonaparte’s Retreat  
7 Black Bottom Blues  
8 Take Me Back to Georgia  
9 Wild Bill Jones  
10 Going Over the Mountain/ Old Jimmy Sutton  
11 Southern Soldier  
12 Waiting for the Federals  
13 The Devil’s in the Girl  
14 Rodeo Man  
15 Stackolee  
16 Walk Along John to Kansas  
17 Blood Red Roses  
Poor Ellen Smith album cover
Price: £9.99
Add to basket


Rattle on the Stovepipe
(American Old Timey)


No information available.