You are here: Albums > Sleeve Notes

Sleeve Notes for John Playford's Secret Ball by Belshazzar's Feast

John Playford's Secret BallThis album is a celebration of the 350th anniversary of the first edition of John Playfords The English Dancing Master.  Most of the tunes are from this edition and there are also a few corkers from later editions.  Belshazzars Feast consists of virtuoso accordion player, Paul Hutchinson, formerly of the Old Pull and Push Band, and the talented classically trained singer and multi-instrumentalist, Paul Sartin. Belshazzars are joined by bassoon, trumpet and English concertina, providing an amazingly rich, subtle and varied tapestry of musical textures and arrangements

Track Notes

1 Maiden Lane

2 Parsons Farewell

3 Goddesses

4 The Garland

5 Mundesse

6 Bobbing Joe

7 Jennie Pluck Pears

8 Cuckolds All a Row

9 The Fits Come on Me Now

10 London Gentlewomen

11 The Maid Peeped Out at the Window

12 Parson Upon Dorothy

13 Gathering Peascods

14 The Old Mole