You are here: Albums > Sleeve Notes

Sleeve Notes for Where Umber Flows by Tom & Barbara Brown

Where Umber FlowsClassic songs by these major figures of the English club scene -  Primarily West Country songs, the album also includes some more modern material and two instrumental tracks.


Tom and Barbara returned to their beloved West Country in 1998 and now live in the village of Combe Martin on the North coast of Exmoor. The CDs title derives from the River Umber which flows down the valley to the sea, past the bottom of their garden.

As a result of both local research and involvement in the extant singing traditions of Devon and Cornwall, their performance repertoire has always been diverse and unusual ranging from humourous dialect items to the classic ballads. Tom and Barbara are each soloists in their own right but also join in harmony and use accompaniment where they feel it is appropriate.

Tom plays concertina, guitar, melodeon and mandola - also featuring the talents of Keith Kendrick  concertina,
Charlie Yarwood  bones and vocals,
Chris Bartram  fiddle  and
Keith Holloway  melodeon

Track Notes

1 Mortal Unlucky Ol Chap

2 Dartmoor Song

3 Cornish Ploughboys

4 The Green Cockade

5 Where Umber Flows

6 The Unquiet Grave

7 The Wives of St. Ives

8 Take Your Time

9 The Flying Cloud

10 Norton New Bell Wake

11 Silbury Hill

12 The Keenly Lode

13 Jordan

14 The Centenary March