You are here: Albums > Sleeve Notes

Sleeve Notes for Fine Colours by Tim Laycock

Fine ColoursEnglish songs old and new, by a leading light of the tradition and a superb concertina player.


Tim is one of Britains most captivating performers he has a natural affinity with his material, an understanding of his repertoire, which brings both old and new songs to life without any gimmicks. If youve ever seen him with The New Scorpion Band, youll know what an excellent bunch of musicians they are and its a bonus to have them filling out the instrumental lines.

Theres some lovely stuff here. Ive never heard a better version of The Horseman, while Tims writing skills are highlighted by Stormalong and Comfrey. Robin Hood and the Bishop of Hereford is a particularly wacky ballad, collected in Dorset 93 years ago from a man who had learned it 60 years before. When Tim sings a song, you feel as though you can reach out and touch it as if it were yesterday     Taplas

Track Notes

1 The Horseman

2 Jack Robinson

3 The Cuckoo

4 Shrewsbury Lasses/Over the Hills to Glory

5 Wounded Soldier/Sing me to Sleep

6 The Peace Tree

7 Florence Wyndham

8 Billy Johnsons Ball / Cadham Wood

9 Hanley Church Bells

10 Robin Hood and the Bishop of Hereford

11 The Village Club Waltz

12 Stormalong

13 Comfrey