You are here: Albums > Sleeve Notes

Sleeve Notes for The South Wind by The Bursledon Village Band

The South WindTraditional English country dance music: instrumental, melodeons, fiddle, Anglo concertinas, keyboard, drums and percussion, Eb tuba, Eb tenor horn.


Once described as the best kept secret on the English Folk dance scene, the Bursledon Village Band look set to become widely admired following the release of this album. Although the tunes have their origins all over the British Isles their chunky English sound gives all the tunes the distinctive stamp of  Southern England in general and of Bursledon in particular - largely due to the influence of such seminal traditional musicians as Scan Tester.

Dave Ingledew - Melodeons,
Joyce Ingledew - Fiddle,
Graham Pretty - Anglo Concertinas,
Matthew Parker - Keyboard,
Simon Harmer - Eb Tuba and Eb Tenor Horn Paul Johnson - Drums and percussion.

Track Notes

1 Gnevequilla Polka/Wedneday Night Polka

2 Burning Bridges/Whose Jig

3 The Double Quadrille

4 The French Assembly/The Bursledon Waltz

5 Roxburgh Castle/The Steamboat

6 The Primrose Polka

7 Margarets Waltz

8 Love in a Village

9 The Kirkgate / Miss Thompsonss Hornpipe

10 Man in the Moon/The South Wind

11 Steeple Claydon/Reel de Ti-Jean

12 Heslyside Reel/Fays Hornpipe

13 The Swiss Girl/Grahaemsie Jig

14 I Have a Bonnet Trimmed With Blue